Daylight Robbery

The last day of my holidays I sat out in the garden with my macro lens, partly because my trusty zoom is now failing me, and partly inspired by Mike Powell‘s stunning macro photography. What I witnessed in the grass was plain daylight robbery.

A dung beetle happily rolling home his impressive dung ball was set upon by a fellow beetle.

Image

A great fight ensued…ImageImageImage

One dung beetle started waving his fist…Image

 

and was immediately set upon by an onlooker….Image

 

Then followed a three-way tug-of-war…Image

till the victor made off with the spoils…Image

 

Leave a Reply

